Gulf Coast Juried Exhibition

Gulf Coast is a juried exhibition of artworks that celebrate, challenge, and capture the activities, ideas and scenery that shape daily life on the Gulf Coast.

Juried by Lee Deigaard, a contemporary artist from New Orleans, LA, Gulf Coast is the first exhibition centered around this theme for Rockport Center for the Arts.

Cash prizes for the top three selected works are $1000 1st Prize, $700 2nd Prize, and $300 3rd prize. The awards were funded by the donation of an original artwork by Salvador Rivera, which was auctioned off at the Art Auction in July 2014. All proceeds raised from the auction of Rivera's artwork were used for the cash prizes for Gulf Coast.

Reception Saturday, September 13

Gallery Talk with Juror Lee Deigaard, 4:30 pm 

Reception continues until 7:00 pm

Free and Open to the Public!

About the Juror: Lee Deigaard

Raised in Atlanta, Lee Deigaard currently lives and works in New Orleans. She received her undergraduate degree from Yale and graduate degrees from the University of Michigan and the University of Texas at Austin. Her work spans drawing and painting,  photography and video, sculpture and installation. Her work, influenced by living on the Gulf Coast, focuses on our observations and interactions with nature.

Congratulations to the 2014 Gulf Coast Prize Winners:

FIRST PRIZE -- Jo Zider, Houston, TX
SECOND PRIZE -- Sarah Fedak, Port Aransas, TX
THIRD PRIZE -- Luba Zygarawicz, Mandeville, LA
HONORABLE MENTIONS -- Linda Dellandre, Montgomery, TX; Carol Koutnik, Rockport, TX; Michael Horvath, Houston, TX; Beth Secor, Houston, TX

Exhibiting Artists:

Amy Achrysalis
Cissy Beasley
Tom Beasley
Joey Blazek
Kathy Brandenberger-O'Rourke
Debbie Cannatella
Angalee DeForest
Linda Dellandre, Honorable Mention
Suzanne Demaree
Anita Diebel
Kathy Drago
John Dyes
Pete Fischer
Stephen Fisher
Myriam Fornage
Susan Forrest
Thomas Foster
Eva Graf
Deborah Greer
Sheila Gritte
Veila Jo Guinn
Michael Horvath, Honorable Mention
Stan Irvin
Carol Koutnik, Honorable Mention
Jesus Toro Martinez
William Messimer
Sally Mitchell
Jessica Monroe
Tommy Moore
Ruth Mulligan
Genie Mysorski
Annette Palmer
Robert Pena, Jr.
Anne Peyton
Beth Secor, Honorable Mention
Harry Selsor
Betty Shamel
Casey Sharpe
Nancy Thyre
John Vinklarek
Cisco Willison
Luba Zygarewicz, THIRD PRIZE